Uncategorized

Valentines Day Part II

When I got home yesterday, Brian and I exchanged gifts. We both went with a fitness theme this year. How fitting! I bought him a new pair of Adidas gym shorts, two new t-shirts, a WAHL haircutting kit (now I can cut his hair at home) and chocolate peanut butter malt balls—-soooooo good. I bought everything at Marshalls so I was able to keep the prices pretty reasonable. He loved everything and can’t wait to wear his new gear to the gym today.

New workout clothes.
New workout clothes.

Brian bought me the New Balance NX710 TRNr sports watch. I had mentioned I wanted this a few months ago so I was psyched when I opened it. I’m going to test it out right after I hit publish on this post. I’ll let you know what I think! I want to use it to train for a 5K, one of my goals for 2014. After opening our gifts, we headed to the grocery store to pick up everything we needed to make parmesan crusted chicken, garlic and herb rice and roasted summer squash. We followed this recipe from Taste of Home. Brian prepared the chicken while I cut and sautéed the summer squash with olive oil, black pepper and sea salt.

roastedsummersquash
Easy Side dish.

I heated the oven to 425 and planned to let the summer squash cook for about 10 minutes, but I screwed up and for whatever reason they didn’t come out well and we had to scrap them. I think I put too much olive oil on them. Fortunately, we still had the garlic and herb rice, which came out really, really well and perfectly complimented the somewhat lemony flavor of the chicken. After dinner, Brian and I sat on the couch, watched two episodes of House of Cards and went to bed!

Parmesan Crusted Chicken
Perfect Valentines Day Dinner!

How was your Valentines Day? Did you do anything special?

Leave a Reply

