Uncategorized

Vanilla Protein, Strawberry Smoothie + Coffee

Sounds weird, right? I thought so too at first, but it was really, really good.

Healthy breakfast
Healthy breakfast with caffeine!

When Brian and I went grocery shopping yesterday, I knew I was going to pick up vanilla protein powder and strawberries with the intention of making a breakfast smoothie sometime this week. I wasn’t sure what else I was going to add, but I knew those were going to be the main ingredients. Then I woke up this morning in a rush. I overslept, spilled my snack for work while packing it and couldn’t find the pair of jeans I was looking for. Needless to say I was running late and wanted something quick to eat that I could take with me if I had to.

I decided to make a smoothie and in an effort to save time (I wanted caffeine, but didn’t want to take the time to make a cup of coffee) I dumped a packet of  Nescafe instant coffee into the mixture and blended away! I was a little nervous about mixing all those flavors together, but I ended up loving it! The smoothie mostly tasted like a Starbucks Vanilla Frappuccino, but had just a hint of strawberry. Soooooo good! I can’t wait to make it (or a variation of it) again.

The only thing I would have done differently is to blend the smoothie for a little longer. I was in a hurry so I made my breakfast very quickly and when I got to the bottom of the cup there were some pretty good sized strawberry chunks. Not a problem, but not something I was expecting either. The rest of the mixture had been very smooth.  Here’s the recipe if you want to try it:

1 Scoop of vanilla protein powder

1 Cup of almond milk

A handful of strawberries (with the tops cut off)

1 packet of instant coffee

My snack today was vanilla greek yogurt topped with Honey Nut Cheerios, a favorite cereal from childhood. I didn’t feel like topping my yogurt with granola today and the Honey Nut Cheerios added jut the right amount of sweetness and crunch.

healthy snack
Crunchy and sweet just the way I like it.

What’s your favorite breakfast smoothie?

Leave a Reply

