Uncategorized

My Healthy Eating Philiosophy

During breakfast this morning, I came across an article on Health.com that I immediately emailed to myself so I would remember to blog about it today. The article was called “Why Weekday Meals Are Key for Weight Loss.” The gist of the article was about a study that showed people who want to lose weight should concentrate on what they eat during the week and not worry about enjoying themselves on the weekend. According to researchers quoted in the article, almost everyone loses weight during the week and gains it on the weekend. You weigh the least on Friday morning and the most on Sunday night. That’s not to say you can eat whatever you want Saturday and Sunday, but you don’t necessarily have to worry about dinner and drinks if you’ve been eating healthy Monday through Friday.

I love this because it’s basically the philosophy I live by. I try to be very conscious of what I eat during the week, packing healthy meals and snacks for work. Come the weekend, I don’t go wild, but I definitely do not think twice about that second Margarita or a side of fries. I’m a lot more laid back about what I eat, but I do consistently workout on the weekend and my sessions tend to be a little longer because I have the extra time. Healthy eating is a balancing act and it doesn’t have to be an all or nothing kind of thing. Case in point, the meal below.

balanced eating
Protein, fruit and chocolate…yum!

My lunch a few days ago was a honey wheat english muffin with peanut butter and a side of apple slices. Healthy. Yet, I also had a mug of hot chocolate. Just a little treat to help me through the day 🙂

So, how do you approach healthy eating?

Leave a Reply

