Uncategorized

New Running Program

Happy Friday!

I decided to go for it and follow Hal Higdon’s novice 8-K training program, which means I ran two miles last night and paired it with some strength training. I chose to work my upper body and followed this routine:

Upper body workout.
Upper body workout.

It originally came from Blossom to be Fit, but I found it on Pinterest. I used 10lb weights for the first set of everything and 5lb weights for the second set. The third set I did as many reps as I could of each exercise with the 10lb weights then switched to 5lbs for the rest. Today is a rest day according to the plan and tomorrow is 30 minutes of cross training.

On another note, it’s been a pretty good day. I met Brian for lunch at the D’Angelo’s near my work. He’s a teacher and since it’s school vacation week he has some time off. I did a little research on the menu beforehand to make sure I could pick a relatively healthy option. I ordered a half steak classic with a side garden salad and balsamic dressing. It was good and really filling so I probably won’t need to eat my snack today.

After work, I’m headed to the Cheesecake factory for dinner with my friends. I’ve known these girls since high school and I always look forward to the times when we can all get together. Fortunately, everyone still lives in the area. Navigating the D’Angelo’s menu at lunch was pretty easy, but we’ll see how it goes at the restaurant tonight. I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow!

Any tips for choosing healthy meal options when dining out?

Leave a Reply

