Uncategorized

Overnight Oats = Not a Fan

I tried overnight oats for the first time this morning and, as I’m sure you already figured out, I didn’t like them. Not at all. Not one tiny bit. Lots of other bloggers rave about them and they always look delicious in pictures, but in real life….not so much—at least for me anyway. Here’s what my bowl looked like:

overnight oats
Overnight Oats

I used Β 6 0z of vanilla greek yogurt, 2/3 cup of oats, 1/2 cup of almond milk and two tablespoons of chia seeds. I couldn’t taste the vanilla at all and the mixture was very bitter as if I had used plain greek yogurt. If anyone has any suggestions about how to make it taste better, I’d be willing to try again. Anyway, after that disaster, I poured myself a bowl of Honey Oat Clusters cereal and made a cup of caramel vanilla coffee. Lunch was a whole wheat bagel with almond butter and chia seeds eaten at my desk. If you haven’t tried almond butter, I highly recommend it…especially for the peanut butter lovers out there. It has a slightly different taste if you want to mix

Almond butter
A good alternative to peanut butter.

things up a bit. The chia seeds just give the bagel a little something extra, plus they’re a superfood. Can’t go wrong there. I didn’t buy much at the grocery store this week so my meals might be a little boring. I’m getting my wisdom teeth out on Wednesday so I’m going to be sticking to soft, mushy foods for a while. Since Brian is really going to be the only person eating normal food this week, we bought half of what we usually do and stocked up on easy to eat foods for me.

On a side note, I’m a liiiittttle nervous about my wisdom teeth removal so if anyone has any words of advice feel free to comment. I’ve never had any kind of surgery before and although maybe I shouldn’t refer to this as “surgery” my wisdom teeth (all three of them!) are impacted….what fun. If you have any suggestions on some yummy foods to eat while I recover, let me know. I’ll be taking a few days off from work after the procedure (as suggested by my oral surgeon) and I’m hoping the extra time will allow me to get creative in the kitchen. I’m dying to try making some kind of healthy pancakes and this might be the perfect time!

Leave a Reply

