Uncategorized

Healthy Eating After Getting Your Wisdom Teeth Out

I survived….and it wasn’t bad at all! No swelling yet and just a little bit of pain. The worse part so far is that I’m starving!

wisdom teeth extraction
Ice, Ice baby….

Ignore the pathetic look on my face. I was still a little loopy from the drugs. I’m also not wearing any makeup! As soon as I got home from the oral surgeon’s office, I made a vanilla, blueberry smoothie that consisted of:

1 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder

1 cup of almond milk

2 handfuls of blueberries

Btw, when I say “I” made the smoothie, I really mean Brian made it for me while I sat on the couch and read some of my favorite blogs (I know, I know he’s great).Β The smoothie was really good and took the edge of my hunger, but since I couldn’t eat anything before the surgery, I haven’t eaten a real meal since last night and I quickly got hungry again. Apparently, there are a lot of foods restricted on the first day your teeth come out. I wanted to eat oatmeal, but I guess thats a no-no for whatever reason. Instead, I had strawberry Outshine popsicle. You can see that I ate it while blogging.

popsicle
Soooo good

It wasn’t the absolute healthiest choice of snack, but the coldness of the popsicle felt good on my throat which is really dry from not being able to drink any water last night and this morning.

I was thrown for a loop when I got my post-op instructions and told not to eat any hot foods today. I was hoping to eat soup for dinner, but now I’m not sure. I may try some whole wheat pasta instead.

Any suggestions for some healthy food to eat while I recover?

p.s. I’m not supposed to exercise for a week! I’m thinking that if I feel OK I’ll probably try to do a walking incline workout on the treadmill in a few days, anyway. Only if I don’t think it will somehow injure my teeth though.

Leave a Reply

