Uncategorized

A.M. and P.M. Workouts….Or Both?

This morning started with some upper body strength training and some abs. At 5am I walked downstairs, rolled out my yoga mat, took out some 5lb and 10lb weights and was ready to roll.

arms and abs workout
Starting the day off right.

I found this workout on Pinterest, but it originally came from the blog Sweetly Balanced. I did each circuit three times before moving on to the next one. I used the 10lb weights until they felt too heavy (about halfway through the second set of each exercise) and then switched to my 5lb weights. Because I couldn’t strength train last week, this morning’s session was a little more difficult than usual, but I powered through.

Oscar was going nuts this morning during my workout. He kept running up to the window and meowing at something then running as fast as he could to the other end of the house. One time he even crashed into the window head on before scurrying to the basement. No idea. He is crazy! Too bad I didn’t get a picture.

Anyway, I’ve been splitting my workouts between morning and night. I get up early to lift weights and then head to the gym after work for cardio. I’m still following that 8K training plan I mentioned before. It seems people disagree about whether or not splitting your workout is beneficial or which should come first: strength training or cardio. Personally, I feel like the best approach is whatever works with my schedule since that is the best way to make sure I actually get a workout in. I’ve blogged before about the fact that I’m in a bit of a time crunch in the morning so anything that calls for a long run is a definite no go. This doesn’t seem to be a problem with strength training though. I’ve been able to finish working out in the time frame I have and since I lift at home, I can jump in the shower as soon as I’m done. Then I’m out the door in no time!

Breakfast after my workout was a bowl of cereal so I won’t bore you with that. My leftovers from last night’s dinner are a lot more exciting. I turned the honey mustard chicken and spanish rice into a rice bowl. There was a lot more chicken in that bowl to begin with, but I ate a lot of it before I remembered to take a picture…oops.

easy lunch
Who doesn’t love leftovers?

Have a great Monday!

p.s. What time of day do you work out? Would you ever consider splitting up your routine?

Leave a Reply

