Uncategorized

Tips for Beating Your Sweet Tooth

I think I may have jinxed myself. Just yesterday I was blogging about how beautiful the weather has been and today I wake up to this.

Snow in New England
Brrrrrrrrrrr.

It’s so cold that my windshield wipers were frozen to my windshield. Yikes! This is the view from my parking lot btw.

My bed was so warm and cozy this morning it was hard to get my butt moving! I decided I needed a little treat to start my day off on the right foot so I made my lazy girl cafe mocha (not as good as Starbucks, but a lot cheaper!)

Cafe Mocha
Chocolate and coffee, a perfect combination.

Into my mug went a packet of 90 calorie Swiss Miss Milk Chocolate Hot Cocoa, a packet of instant coffee and a dash of almond milk. Voila! Super easy to make and you probably have all of these ingredients in your cabinets at home.

On days like today when I find it hard to get moving I often crave sweets. The same thing happens if I’m overtired. I feel like i need a treat to get through the day. This used to happen to me a lot at work and I’d find myself buying candy to keep in my desk.

My personal favorite is peanut M&M’s. I realllyyyy have to practice some self control because I can and will eat the whole package (even the share size). When I was in grad school getting my M.A. in journalism I had a horrible habit of eating way too many bags of those candies. I never gained any serious weight because I was still super active, but my moods were all over the place and I’d crash terribly after my sugar high. It was bad habit that I’ve since gotten under control.

That being said, there are still some days when ignoring the craving or eating a healthy alternative like fruit just won’t cut it. There is  something so soothing about a little treat. Here are some of the foods I reach for on those days. They may not be healthy, but they are certainly better than downing a large bag of M&Ms.

Hot Cocoa

Hot Cocoa

Hot cocoa comes in all different flavors and you can usually find a low calorie version that will satisfy your need for some chocolatey goodness without completely throwing your fitness goals off track.

Skinny Cow Ice Cream Cones

Skinny Cow Ice Cream

These were a favorite in college. I love the chocolate ones, but they also come in vanilla with caramel sauce and a mint chip version. I think they may have added some new flavors too.

Smoothie

Healthy breakfast

A smoothie with flavored protein usually tastes enough like a treat for me, especially on a hot day. It reminds me of a healthy frappe and depending on your preference you can add whatever you want into your blender.

Hershey’s Dark Chocolate 

Chocolate Bar

Brian and I often keep one of these bad boys in the fridge. We’ll each break off a few squares for dessert. The tricky part is not eating the whole candy bar, but if you have a roommate or boyfriend who’s willing to split the treat throughout the week then you’ll probably be OK. I stick to my two square rule because I’d hate to see a disappointed Brian reach into the fridge only to discover I’ve eaten the whole thing!

****Question of the Day**** What are your go-to sweet treats?

2 thoughts on “Tips for Beating Your Sweet Tooth

Leave a Reply

