weekends

Sunday Trip to Market Basket and My New Favorite Mug

Hi everyone,

Hope you’ve had a great weekend so far! My Sunday began with a bowl of Kashi Go Lean Toasted Berry Crumble and a leisurely cup of coffee.

Kashi Go Lean Toasted Berry Crumble

The coffee was consumed in my new mug given to me by Brian’s sister. She actually bought one for each of us. Mine is blue and Brian’s is red. They are handmade from Portugal, which is really cool since Brian’s family is 100% Portuguese. He and his sister are first generation. His family is from the Azors and the island San Miguel.

Coffee Mug

After breakfast I hit the gym for a hodgepodge of cardio that included 1.34 miles on the elliptical, 2 miles on the treadmill and 1 mile on the bike. The time passed really quickly and before I knew it I was heading home to jump in the shower and get ready to go grocery shopping.

Market Basket

I am officially a huge fan of Market Basket. This is the second weekend we’ve grocery shopped there and I can’t get over how neat and well-stocked the shelves are. We use to go to Hannaford, but it was a lot more expensive with a smaller selection…..at least the one near us anyway.

This is our cart when we were about halfway done shopping. Brian and I always split the grocery bill right down the middle and it’s typically about $60-$65 a person.

Grocery Cart

 

Before we started shopping at Market Basket, that amount pretty much got us our weekly groceries (fruit, snacks, breakfast, lunch) and one night’s dinner. We had problems in the past with meat  (from Hannaford) going bad very quickly so Brian usually stopped at the store on his way home from work to pick up meat for that night’s dinner.

Now that we shop at Market Basket, that $60-$65 includes three dinners with enough for leftovers. Awesome! The meat also looks better and lasts a lot longer. Like I said, I’m a fan 🙂 .

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday! I’m off to finish unpacking from my trip and tackle a mountain of laundry.

****Question of the Day**** Where do you grocery shop? Do you set a budget?

 

 

Leave a Reply

