running

My First Race…Coming in June!

I did it. I signed up for my first official race—a 5K

Ashland Trail Race

The Ashland Trail Race is June 7th and all proceeds go to the Boston Children’s Hospital League. The race is located pretty close to home, which is good because June 7th also happens to be the day of my cousin’s bridal shower. Yikes! I didn’t plan it this way, but that’s how it worked out so I’m just going to roll with it.

As my training plan progresses, my mileage is slowly increasing. This is the last week where any of my runs are under three miles. I can tell my endurance has improved. The only problem I have is that my calf muscles tend to cramp up by the end of the week. I’ve been trying to massage out the knots, but I’m thinking I might invest in a foam roller once my mileage kicks up.

Last night’s workout was 40 minutes of cross training. I did 20 minutes on the elliptical, which was about two miles. Then I did 20 minutes on the bike, which was three miles.

It was absolutely beautiful outside yesterday. I drove home from work with the windows down and it really felt like spring, which reminded me of this.

Fenway ParkBaseball season and Fenway Park! Woot, Woot! Brian and I went to two games last year and I really hope to go to more this season. I love baseball and the Boston Red Sox, of course. I was a softball player through high school, which I know is a totally different sport, but also kind of the same. I’ve been to two World Series parades, but didn’t make it to last year’s 😦 .

There’s always this year 😉

****Question of the Day**** What are you most looking forward to this spring?

 

One thought on “My First Race…Coming in June!

Leave a Reply

