meals · recipes · workouts

Clean Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Last night’s workout was a two-parter. First, I did this at-home bootcamp designed by yours truly.

At-home-workout

I followed it up with an ab workout I got from Peanut Butter Fingers.

ab workout

Yesterday was a rest day for me so after some strength training I sat my butt down on the couch with a glass of vino and watched the Sox play the Rangers 🙂 .

Now, onto that recipe I promised….clean banana chocolate chip muffins!

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Look at that gooey chocolate! I can’t claim credit for these because I got the recipe from Debbie Reichert’s blog, which I found through Pinterest. I altered the recipe just a little so it looked like this:

2.5 cups of quick oats

1 small container of plain greek yogurt

1 small container of vanilla greek yogurt

2 eggs

1/2 cup of honey

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 TBSP regular (not ground) Flax

1 tsp vanilla

2 bananas

3 handfuls of chocolate chips

*everything was blended with an immersion blender before being poured into a muffin pan and baked at 350 degrees.

I made some of my muffins a little too thick so they took a long time to cook (a little over 30 minutes). Regardless, they came out delicious. Not dry at all considering the long baking time. I brought one to work for a snack yesterday and then ate another after dinner. The muffins also got the seal of approval from Brian, which is the real test.

My sweet tooth was raging yesterday so I incorporated some more chocolate into my work snacks. I ate this on a whole wheat wrap after lunch.

Chocolate Peanut Butter

Chocolate Coconut Peanut Butter….does it get any better than that? The nutrition facts are about the same as regular peanut butter so even though this seems like an indulgent snack, it’s really not bad. I’d recommend going light on this stuff. It’s very rich and a little goes a long way, but it’s so, so good! I think it would taste awesome in a smoothie or baked goods too.

Alright, have a great Tuesday everyone. I have quite the busy day and I’m looking forward to hitting the gym for a nice run later. See you tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Clean Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Great looking bootcamp! I think some of my favorite workouts include lots of exercises that change things up and never keep me guessing or bored.

    And mhmm mhmm mhmm! I’m staring at that delicious muffin picture and can’t help but drool. It looks so moist and big ol’ chunks of chocolate chips make my world spin round haha! I’m definitely one of those guilty people who eat them by the handful out of the bag whenever I’m baking. Can’t believe these are good for you! Just a better excuse to eat 3849 of them, right ;)?

Leave a Reply

