Uncategorized

How to Relieve Allergies Naturally

It’s almost the weekend yay!

Quick recap of my wedding shower planning session last night. Then I’ll get into the real subject of this post: allergies.

My two sisters and I met with my aunt and chatted over pizza. We got a lot done. We talked about decorations and games, who’s going to hand out the gifts, who’s going to record the gifts, etc. We’ll be playing Wedding Gift BingoWhat’s in Your Purse? and handing out a wedding themed word search that includes words that pertain to the bride’s special day. Before I move on, I have to introduce you to Teddy, my cousin’s adorable tea cup dog.

Tea Cup Dog

He is LOUD, but so sweet. He supervised our little planning session.

Now, on to the real purpose of this post. Lets talk allergies. It’s that time of year again when I’m constantly sniffling, suffering through sinus headaches and puffy eyes. Not fun. Thankfully, I am not allergic to animals. My allergies are all environmental. I’m not sure how many of you might have allergies too, but since this week has been particularly bad for me, I thought I’d talk about some of the the things that help.

I don’t have an issue with taking medicine. Sudafed and Claritin are lifesavers, on occasion, but over the years I’ve found some of the things that work best to keep my symptoms at bay don’t involve actual medicine. That’s just my observation. I’m not a doctor, but maybe these methods will also work for you.

1). Neti Pot

Neti Pot

What I use isn’t exactly a neti pot, but that’s what I call it.  I used to think these things were gross and that there was no way they actually worked, but they do. I finally bought one about two years ago and I love it. When I use it consistently I’m not as congested and I have fewer headaches. The Sinus Squeeze comes with saline packets that you put into the bottle that you then fill with warm water. From what I understand, it helps to wash allergens out of your nasal passages and soothe them once they’ve become inflamed. TMI…I Know, but it also helps you blow your nose, which is awesome when you can’t breathe.

2). Humidifier

humifidier

My attempt to lighten this photo didn’t turn out so well, but anyway, this guy sits by my bedside. I bought it about a year ago and I don’t remember what I paid for it, but I know it was pretty inexpensive.  Having the extra humidity in the air while I sleep helps to prevent me from getting too congested during the night. On the days where I forget to plug it in, there is a noticeable difference in how I feel the next morning.

3). Steam Therapy

I use steam two ways. One, I take a hot shower and sit and breathe in the steam. This is especially great in the winter when it’s really cold out. It’s also a good excuse to relax and soak in the heat for a while. Or two, I boil water and then pour it into a bowl. After letting it cool for a minute or two I soak a facecloth in the water and then hold the cloth over my nose while leaning over the bowl to breathe in the steam. I like this method because I can do it while I watch TV. Yes, it looks a little weird, but I swear you’ll feel 99.9% better when you’re done 🙂 .

4). Saline Spray

Saline Spray

During allergy season, I always keep a small bottle of Saline Spray in my purse so I can sneak off to the bathroom for a quick rinse if I have to. Don’t worry, I hide in the bathroom stall while I use it 😉 . Otherwise, that would be a little weird.

Have a great Thursday everyone and I will see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

