weekends · workouts

A Quick Upper Body Workout + 4 Mile Run

Hi everyone, can you believe it’s Sunday already? Where did this weekend go? My day started with a 10 minute upper body workout video from POPSUGAR Fitness.

Upper Body Workout

Then I met my sister at a local park for a run around the dirt half-mile track. I did four miles altogether, but it was very windy outside and I struggled big time.

Do anyone else’s ears hurt when they run outside? Even if it isn’t cold or windy, I’ve been having this problem a lot. It feels like swimmer’s ear except I’m not swimming, I’m running. Does this happen to anyone other than me?

After my run, I was pretty hungry so I had one of my favorite post-run snacks: whole wheat toast with peanut butter and chia seeds.

Post-Run Snacks

I finished Divergent last night and then went to see the movie with Brian and my sister Alicia. I liked it a lot. I liked the book better and the movie was a little different, but I’d still recommend it for fans of the books. My sister loaned me the next book in the series, Insurgent, and I’m probably going to start it later tonight. I still can’t believe Veronica Roth was 21 when she wrote Divergent. Talk about talented jeez!

As soon as I publish this post, I’m off to finish laundry. Brian and I are going to dinner with our friends Nathan and Meredith tonight at the Bolton Street Tavern. I’ve only been there once before and Brian has never been so I’m really looking forward to it! After that, we’ll be doing our usual Sunday night activity: watching Game of Thrones and Mad Men. Can’t wait!

Hopefully you’re all having as relaxing a weekend as this guy.

sleepy-Oscar

See you on Monday!

9 thoughts on “A Quick Upper Body Workout + 4 Mile Run

  1. Sounds like a good weekend … I haven’t seen Divergent but at this point will likely wait for DVD (OK, really Amazon Instant). It is out of our local theaters.

    I don’t have an issue with my ears … but today was really windy, and I tried wearing a running hat and ended up carrying it most of the time!

    I looked up the Bolton Street Tavern (used to work at what is now Dow on Forest St in Marlborough for 15 years or so). I know the location, but think it was called something else before … not sure, do you guys know?

      1. Piccadilly Pub, yes! Thank you! We had an engineering director who loved that place so over the course of a few years we seemed to go there about once a month for ‘manager meeting dinners’ …

        Hope you had a great time with your friends 🙂

    1. Definitely loved Gone Girl – recommend reading that before tearing into the Divergent trilogy. I also loved ‘Sweet Tooth’ (another of the ‘best of 2012’ along with Gone Girl) but my wife wasn’t as thrilled by the 60s spy feel.

Leave a Reply

