running · workouts

Officially a Morning Exerciser Again

It’s official. As you can tell from the title of my post, I’m a morning exerciser again. Those of you who have been reading for a while know that I had been struggling to get my butt out of bed early enough to get in a run, but I’m finally, finally back on track and boy did it take some hard work! I thought I’d share a few of my tips in an effort to help anyone else with the same struggle.

mornings

I’m going to start by saying it’s not realistic for everyone to be able to squeeze in some exercise before work. Brian and my sister are both teachers so I know most of you teachers wake up at ungodly hours just to get to school on time while I’m heading to the gym or out for a run. It also depends on how long your commute is. If you have a long drive maybe you can join a gym halfway between home and work, but odds are if you’re spending most of the morning in the car then you may not have time in the A.M.

My work day technically starts at 8:00 am, but I like to get into the office a little earlier so I can go through emails and get started on the day before anyone needs me for anything. Here’s what my morning looks like:

Wake up between 4:45-5:00

Get out the door by 5:10 and arrive at gym by 5:20

Run until about 5:45

Arrive back at home a little before 6:00

Shower, eat breakfast and leave for work by 7:10

(all of my long runs are completed on the weekend)

I strength train three or four nights a week at home using a combination of routines I’ve designed or found on Pinterest. I sometimes use workout videos from YouTube or DVD’s from my own collection.

Back to morning workouts—-here are some of the things that helped me:

tip1.2

Every night before I go to bed, I lay out a pair of shorts, a T-shirt, a sports bra, socks and a sweatshirt. The less I have to do in the morning the better. I also lay out my iPod and headphones so I don’t wake Brian up by riffling through the my bedside table trying to find it. My sneakers are in the closet by the front door ready to go.

tip 2.2

Part of the reason I had a hard time fitting in a morning workout was because I had too much to do. By packing my lunch and snacks the night before (or at least prepping them) I’ve eliminated one item on my morning to-do list. This also makes eating healthier a lot easier.

tip4

One of the things that gets me out of bed when I’m really tired is knowing that if I knock out my workout first thing in the morning then I can relax after work. I plan to do things like paint my nails or take a bath or read, which I never had time to do when I was running at night. By the time I got home from the gym I would be ready to crawl into bed and fall asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. Now I enjoy some me time and unwind before bed.

tip5

I am notoriously bad at picking out clothes in the morning. I’ve been late for work a few times because I tried on just about everything in my closet before I found something I actually thought looked good on me. Now, I try to plan my outfits in advance or at least make sure a few go-to outfits are clean so when I get home from the gym in the morning I can just put something together without thinking about it. This has drastically increased the amount of time I have in the morning.

tip6

I’m sure you’ve all heard that mantra, “I’ve never regretted a workout.” Well, it’s true. No matter how tired I was when I got up I can’t ever remember thinking I should have slept in when I got to the end of a workout. I’m always energized and happy even if I was miserable when I first started out. In other words, suck it up and just do it! I’m always a fan of a little tough love. Trust me, after a few days your body will adjust and soon getting up early won’t feel like cruel and unusual punishment.

Have a happy hump day everyone. See ya tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Officially a Morning Exerciser Again

  1. I rarely work out in the AM because I already am up at 5:20 (or earlier) every day. When I do, I’m very similar to you. I lay out my gym clothes and work clothes the night before. Thankfully we all have ugly high-vis construction uniforms so it doesn’t take much time to decide what to wear to work 🙂

  2. I’m definitely NOT a morning workout person, plus when I work day shift I have to be at the hospital at 6:45 aka way too early to work out before. Congrats on becoming a morning workout person though!

  3. I wish I was a morning workout person! I love these tips…they really seem like they would help. Especially making sure that everything is set and ready to go the night before. Im just such a night owl right now that am’s and I aren’t the best of friends lol. I love love number 5 though. There’s definitely no regret.

Leave a Reply

