running

My First 5K: Ashland Trail Race

Hi! Hope you all had a great weekend. I’m still running off the high of my first 5K. I ran the Ashland Trail Race on Saturday, which is a fundraiser for the Boston Children’s Hospital Coalition. The weather was gorgeous, the trail had some great views and I had a blast!

Ashland Trail Race 5K

Since it was my first race, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Brian and I got there early and I had plenty of time to pick up my number, use the bathroom and stretch while taking in a lovely view of the lake. Right before the start of the race, Brian and I parted ways. He went to wait for me at the finish line and I went to join the rest of the runners at the start.

lake

The trail itself was a lot of fun. We ran for 1/4 mile on flat road then went through the woods and came out by a long stretch of dirt road alongside the lake. From there, it was back into the woods for the rest of the race until we finally came out through the trees and ran the last stretch to the finish line.

I was surprised by how rocky the part of the trail that went through the woods was. Not to mention the gnarly tree roots everywhere. I’m not sure what my official time was, but according to my watch I think I finished in about 36 minutes, which is longer than usual for me. I slowed down significantly during the really rocky sections of the trail because I didn’t want to fall or twist an ankle. I was headed to my cousin Erica’s wedding shower two hours after the race so there was no time for injuries! I’m the maid of honor and I had to be at the venue early to decorate and set up.

 I felt great when I finished the race, but my hip and my left calf were a little sore Sunday morning when I woke up. Nothing serious. I think it was the hills that got me. I trained mostly on a track or the treadmill so it was all flat running and I think my body just wasn’t used to all of the uphill action. Overall, I loved the Ashland Trail Race and I can’t wait to do it again next year. Now that my first race is under my belt, I definitely want to sign up for another one very soon.

glass

Plus, I got this cool looking pint glass for finishing the the 5K. Not too bad huh?

After a quick shower, I put on my brand new maxi dress from Target and headed to the Marriott to meet the rest of the bridal party to start decorating for Erica’s shower.

bridal shower

table

 The shower was a brunch with lots of wonderful food including eggs, bacon, blueberry scones and mimosas!

I took Sunday off from running, but did a total body workout I got from the blog Peanut Butter Runner.

total body workout

I spent the rest of my Sunday cleaning, doing laundry and watching Orange is the New Black. This second season may be even better than the first one! Any other OITNB fans out there? What do you think?

6 thoughts on “My First 5K: Ashland Trail Race

  1. Congrats on your first 5k! Trail races intimidate me, I’m worried I’ll fall and hurt myself. Also, so obsessed with OITNB

  2. Congratulations on your run!! Sounds like it was a great time. That glass you got at the end is so awesome too! The shower looks like it was beautiful. Happy week to you girl!

  3. Congrats on your first race! Trail races are really hard! I’ve only completed one 5K trail race and it was my slowest 5K. I also felt more tired then when I finish a regular 5K.

Leave a Reply

