Travel · Uncategorized

Booze Cruise and Aruba Jeep Tour

Hi guys! I’ve missed you all. Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days, but I’m taking some time to check back in and share some pictures from two excursions we did this week. First up was a sunset cruise around the island on Monday night.

aruba_booze_cruise

The cruise was open bar and we all had a great time sipping on rum punch and enjoying the beautiful ocean view.

us_aruba

sunset1

sunset2

The cruise was from 5:30-7:30 and left from the Pelican Bar on the water right outside the Holiday Inn (our hotel). If you ever get the chance to go to Aruba, I highly recommend this cruise. Our captain and crew had a great sense of humor and had everyone laughing throughout the ride.

Next up was a jeep tour of Aruba on Wed morning. On this tour, groups of four rented jeep wranglers and followed a tour guide around the island, stopping at various locations and landmarks to hear about their history and take a few pictures. While I did have fun on this tour, I will say it’s really hot driving around for six hours plus a lot of the tour is on winding dirt roads and I got pretty car sick at one point. Thankfully, I was fine once we got on the main roads again.

jeep1

The first stop was the California Lighthouse, which was built in 1910 and named for a ship that sunk prior to its construction.

California Lighthouse Aruba

From the lighthouse, we went to the Natural Bridge, which is a limestone formation that creates a bridge (surprise, surprise!). Part of it collapsed in early 2000 (if I remember correctly). I wasn’t sure what to expect here, but the view was amazing.

Natural Bridge Aruba

natural-bridge2

Our next stop was the Gold Mill ruins, leftover from a time when gold was mined in the island hills. This was one of my favorite stops on the tour. I had no idea that parts of Aruba were like a desert and the gold mill ruins reminded me of the ghost towns from the California gold rush.

gold-mill-ruins

gold-ruins2

 I don’t have too many pictures from here on out because this was about the point where I got car sick. We drove up some very steep winding roads with little hills on our way to Arikok National Park and Guadirikiri Cave. I had my eyes shut for most of this time and opted to stay in the car while everyone else toured the caves just in case breakfast decided to reappear :/ .

Before I got sick, I did manage to take a picture of these donkeys hanging out on the side of the road.

goats

The donkeys were not shy at all and even came right up to our jeep window where Brian decided to pet one on the nose!

goat-petting

Alright, this was a very long post so thank you to anyone who took the time to get all the way through it. Now tell me….what’s going on with you. How’s this week going? Any upcoming vacations?

5 thoughts on “Booze Cruise and Aruba Jeep Tour

Leave a Reply

