running · Uncategorized · workouts

4 Alternative Workouts for Runners

Remember how I told you my luggage is lost? Well, last night as I was heading out for a run I realized my sneakers are in my suitcase. Fail.

no_running_allowed

I hate missing a run, but I took the opportunity to put in a nice strength training workout, which I did thanks to Presley over at Run Pretty. Check out this total body superset.

total_body_superset

This got me thinking about alternative workouts for runners. What do you do if you can’t or don’t want to run? Maybe your legs need a rest or maybe like me you lost your sneakers for a while. Here are some alternative workouts you can do in the meantime.

1). The Elliptical

precor-elliptical

The motion of the elliptical is pretty close to running and turning up the resistance on the machine can get your heart rate up like it would if you were really out for a run.

2). Core Workout

A strong core is essential for runners in order for their pelvis, abs, hips and lower back to work together to ensure good form and prevent injury.

Try this one from Active.com or this one  from Fitness Magazine. If you like planks, try these variations as demonstrated by Shalane Flanagan and Kara Goucher in this video.

3). Stairs

running-up-stairs

I do stairs at home when I don’t feel like heading out for a run. It’s a great lower body workout and can still torch a lot of calories. Don’t believe me?  Take a look at this article on Runner’s World called “Why Stair-Climbing is Good for Runners.”

4) A bootcamp workout:

At-home-workout

I designed this workout to get in a little cardio on a day where I wasn’t running. It may not look too difficult, but believe me my heart rate was way up….in a good way.

If all else fails, take a rest day, foam roll or even go for a walk.

What are some of your alternative workouts? What do you like to do on non-running days?

4 thoughts on “4 Alternative Workouts for Runners

  1. I’m usually a fan of elliptical when I want a break from running…or I’ll just take a strength class…or Zumba (because it’s also cardio, right?! Lol). I hope your luggage gets back to you soon! That has to be so frustrating.

  2. These are all great ideas! I usually go for the elliptical for cardio when I’m not running, but I actually went swimming yesterday! It was kind of fun to do something different even though I am a terrible swimmer:)

  3. Whenever I’m not feeling running I do a class at my gym like spinning or circuits to mix it up 🙂

  4. Such a great roundup! I wouldn’t really describe myself as much of a runner (unless you coun’t me running to the fridge… I kid, I kid), but I think the workouts you listed are great for anyone! I like alternating the treadmill/elliptical/stationary bike when I’m at the gym with weightlifting, but my heart it happiest when I’m doing an outdoor activity like hiking or soccer! Love the bootcamp! I bet that gets your heart rate up reeeeaall fast!

Leave a Reply

