weekends

Weekend Recap: Redecorating and a Birthday Party

Happy  Monday! How was your weekend? Did you get in any good workouts? My weekend was busy, busy, busy, but before I get into the details, I want to quickly recap my workouts.

Friday: Off
Sat: 40 min run, lower body workout
Sun: 30 min run

You already know what my Friday night  looked like, but Saturday was spent shopping. I got a gift card to Homegoods for my birthday so me, Brian and my mom went looking for new decorations for my place. Brian and I have been wanting to redecorate for a while, but just haven’t had the time (and didn’t really want to spend the money) so the gift card my parents got me was the perfect birthday present.
We tackled the house by rooms and decided we would focus on the living room and our bedroom as the two places we really wanted to freshen up. I wish I had thought to take a good before and after pic of each room, but I didn’t. I got too excited when we got home and just started redecorating right away. Ooops!
Here is an old (not so good) before pic of the living room:
famroom.jpg
Here’s what it looks like now:
livingroom-new
We bought new pillows for the couch and a new rug, rearranged our furniture and moved around a few accent pieces I already had. You can’t really tell from the picture, but there is a lot of space in the back of the room behind the couch since the room is shaped like a rectangle.  We are planning to put in a dry bar and maybe some high chairs there so we can get some use out of that space. Before, we had the furniture in the back of the room and the middle of the room was really open.
Here’s an old bedroom photo. I’m almost too embarrassed by the mess of clothes to post this…almost:
old-bedroom
Here’s what it looks like now:
new-bedroom2.jpg
Moving on to Sunday, My afternoon was spent at my cousin Colin’s second birthday party. It was Mickey Mouse themed and there was even an adorable giant balloon mouse.
mickey-balloon
Cute, right?!
Colin was so funny while he opened his presents and took a lot of interest in the tissue paper, which he seemed to think was just as exciting as his actual presents.
colin-presents
The table he was sitting at was just a little too high for him and at one point all you could see was his little hand over the presents. So cute!
colin-hand
I think his favorite present was this one:
colin-car
Can’t really blame him. I think I’m a little jealous….although I did have the Barbie Corvette when I was little. It was a hot pink convertible and I was too cool!
That’s about it for my weekend. I will see you all tomorrow!
4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Redecorating and a Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

