Uncategorized · workouts

Book Review: Kara Goucher’s Running for Women

Happy Monday everyone! A while ago I read Kara Goucher’s Running for Women and I promised a book review. This is long overdue, but better late than never right? If you aren’t interested in the book, skip down to the bottom of my post for a new upper body workout. Alright, here it goes:

Kara Goucher's

For anyone who doesn’t know, Kara Goucher is an American long distance runner and olympic athlete. You can read all about Goucher and some of her achievements here. As you might remember, when I first picked up this book I was kind of on the fence. I thought some of the running tips were a little basic and the Q&A sections where Kara answers reader submitted questions is really bizarre at times. For example,

Dear Kara,

Is it Ok to train when I’m having my period? Do you do this?

Are there seriously people out there who don’t know the answer to this question?

Another question that annoyed me was one involving how to look cute when you’re running so you can meet guys. Maybe it’s just me, but if I had the chance to ask an olympic athlete any question in the world, that would not be it.

Onto the positive…..

The book has a great mix of anecdotes from Kara’s life and races as well as running tips from Kara and her coaches. If you’ve been running for years, you will probably know most of the things this book covers, but for someone like me who is relatively new to competitive running, it was useful.

My favorite parts of the book were the stories about how Kara overcame various obstacles like injury and depression. I LOVED the section about her experience running the New York City Marathon where she came in 3rd, running 2:25:53, which was the fastest marathon debut ever by an American woman. Although that’s an incredibly impressive achievement, Kara recounted how defeated she felt running that race and how tempted she was to drop out.  Despite the fact that she was throwing up orange sports drink, she kept going and ended up with an incredible achievement. Her point: a win isn’t always pretty.

There are enough stories like that to keep anyone with an interest in running engaged and by the end of the book, I really couldn’t put it down. All in all, I was a fan!

Now, for that upper body workout:

10_15_20

Have a great day everyone, I will see you tomorrow?

What’s the last book you read? Would you recommend it?

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Kara Goucher’s Running for Women

  1. I’ve never read that book, but it sounds interesting! I agree with your initial comments about looking cute and training with your period. I’m surprised those are real questions but I guess you never know what people will ask!

  2. I’m reading Middlesex right now which I grabbed randomly out of my roommate’s room but it’s interesting. Those questions are ridiculous, I’m with you, if I could ask olympic athletes anything, it would not be those questions.

Leave a Reply

