health

How to Like Healthy Food (aka tricking your taste buds)

When I was in college, I read that if you ate a certain food every day for a week you could train your tastebuds to like it. In an effort to find some healthy dining hall options I enjoyed, I tested out the theory on bananas.

At first I hated them. I didn’t like the taste or the texture of the fruit, but sure enough, by the end of the week, I didn’t hate bananas anymore. I’m not saying I LOVED them, but I could manage to eat a banana without wanting to gag. After a little while longer I grew to like the fruit so much that it’s  actually a staple on my grocery list each week. I don’t know if my little trick worked, but I do know it is possible to change your preferences over time.

trick-your-taste-buds

I was a very picky eater as a child and truth be told, my dad is a picky eater so I wasn’t exposed to a wide variety of foods growing up. My mom made a lot of chicken dishes to keep her fussy eaters happy so there are a lot of foods I had never even tried until college. For example, mushrooms, asparagus, spinach….the list could go on. My point is that I think there are a lot of healthy foods that we don’t necessarily enjoy eating at first, but given time we grow to like them.

Here are a few tricks to make that easier:

1). Try a seasoning you like: When I (or really Brian) makes asparagus, he seasons it lightly with with olive oil, salt and pepper. I love eating it that way, but plain…not so much. Using a light seasoning makes me more likely to eat any kind of vegetable. I just make sure not to use anything too heavy or anything that would erase the nutritional value of the veggies.

2). Learn the nutritional benefits: I’m not always the biggest fan of green smoothies. They’ve grown on me, but I’m iffy on the taste. I drink them because I know it’s an easy way get some essential vitamins and minerals. I’ve heard people say green smoothies boost their energy and aid digestion issues as well.

3). Eat it repeatedly: If you try something once and you don’t like it try it again. Prepare the dish in a different way or just get your taste buds used to the food through repeated exposure.

4). Read this article from Shape Magazine on training your brain to prefer healthy foods.

Those are my tricks. Nothing earth shattering, but they work.

Have a great Tuesday! I will see you all tomorrow 🙂

2 thoughts on “How to Like Healthy Food (aka tricking your taste buds)

  1. Great tips! I think a lot of the time healthy eating takes time to become part of your normal day and I definitely use the trick of seasoning things to bring in more flavor 🙂

  2. I think that this is kind of what happened for me with avocados…I just couldn’t eat them for awhile…but I knew how healthy they were and I wanted to like them. I have tried them about 7 or 8 times now and I like them a little more each time. It probably would have been better to eat them every day for a week but oh well!

Leave a Reply

