health

Why Green Juice Might Be My New Best Friend

I have green (or should I say greens) on the brain! I woke up craving some kind of green juice yesterday. I’ve never actually made my own green juice so I didn’t have the right ingredients on hand (unless you count the juicer, of course 🙂 ). Plus, I have zero time in the morning and I’m lucky to shove some cereal in my face before work so juicing anything in the A.M. is pretty much out of the question.

Anyway, the craving continued on so during I lunch I skipped out to Starbucks and got myself one of these.

evolution-fresh

 

I’ve never had anything from Evolution Fresh before, but this juice did the trick. It had celery, cucumber, romaine, lime, parsley, apple, spinach, kale, lemon and clover. Green juice is definitely an acquired taste. I’d say there are very few people who love it on the first try, but the health benefits are amazing.

Take kale. It’s a superfood. Yes, that term is wayyyyyy overused and at this point hardly means anything beyond marketing speak, but kale REALLY is a superfood. It’s packed with nutrients. I’m not a doctor or a nutritionist so don’t take my word for it. Listen to Web MD:

-“One cup of chopped kale contains 33 calories and 9% of the daily value of calcium, 206% of vitamin A, 134% of vitamin C, and a whopping 684% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.”

– “Kale’s health benefits are primarily linked to the high concentration and excellent source of antioxidant vitamins A, C, and K -and sulphur-containing phytonutrients.”

-“Carotenoids and flavonoids are the specific types of antioxidants associated with many of the anti-cancer health benefits. Kale is also rich in the eye-health promoting lutein and zeaxanthin compounds.”

-“Beyond antioxidants, the fiber content of cruciferous kale binds bile acids and helps lower blood cholesterol levels and reduce the risk of heart disease, especially when kale is cooked instead of raw.”

You can read the rest of the article on kale here.

Are you convinced yet? I’ve been reading a lot about juicing lately and the topic is seriously fascinating. People claim making juices a regular part of their diet has helped them do everything from improve their skin to cure chronic diseases. I don’t know if I personally believe everything I’ve read, but those benefits are enough to make me interested.

What do you guys think. Are you into juicing? Would you ever do a juice cleanse?

If I were to ever do a juice cleanse it would have to be one that included some type of food because I would die if I had to subsist on liquid alone. 

 

 

One thought on “Why Green Juice Might Be My New Best Friend

Leave a Reply

