weekends

Sunday Funday and a Skinny Raspberry Cocktail

Why do the weekends just seem to fly by? 

Sunday I went to a baby shower. My cousin’s wife is having a little girl in early October. I really wasn’t kidding when I said this is the year of marriages and babies in my family! I’ve been to enough parties now that I know exactly what I want when the day comes for me (ya know….sometime in the future…not right now). The shower was ladybug themed and we got these adorable candles as favors.

 baby-shower

 After celebrating the lovely mom-to-be, I headed home for a fun day of laundry, laundry, laundry. Jk, not so fun and exciting, but definitely necessary. I also sat down to do some blog related things and made myself a nice skinny cocktail that I like to call Raspeberry Vodka Punch. 

raspberry-vodka-punch

Recipe:  

1.5 ounces (or one shot) of Smirnoff Raspberry Pomegranate Sorbet Light vodka 

1 cup of sparkling water

splash of cranberry juice 

garnish with raspberries

Voila! An easy skinny drink that doesn’t require diet soda as a mixer. Juice can be high in sugar and calories, but you’re only putting a splash in here for the taste.

I don’t drink soda anymore, but when I did I loved to drink rum and diet coke. Then I found out how bad diet soda is for you and I died inside a little. I avoid soda now, which means no more of my beloved rum and diet coke, except sometimes (and that’s a big SOMETIMES) as a treat. 

What did you do this weekend? Did you get any runs in?

It’s been disgustingly humid here so all of my running has been on the treadmill lately. It’s a little depressing. I know a lot of you have been experiencing the same weird September weather and I give credit to those of you getting your butt outside!

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Funday and a Skinny Raspberry Cocktail

  1. Awww, I love the ladybug theme! Crossing my fingers that when I get older I have a girl so I can plan out cute parties for her ;). Also, great drink! Being a college student, I could always use healthier recipes for our constant nights out!

Leave a Reply

