Beauty

Biotin for Hair Growth: Yay or Nay?

This weekend I bought myself a little container of Biotin supplements, but I haven’t started taking them yet. In case you haven’t heard, Biotin is an essential water-soluble B vitamin that is credited with promoting healthy hair and nails.

Here’s the thing, the jury is kind of out on this one. We know Biotin plays a role in preventing breakage and keeping hair healthy. People who are deficient in Biotin have brittle hair and nails, however it’s pretty rare for someone to be naturally deficient in Biotin (or so I’ve read. I’m no doctor). And there seems to be conflicting evidence on whether taking supplements can actually promote hair growth even though shampoos containing Biotin are marketed as providing thicker, fuller, longer hair.

Biotin

 

So, basically, that just leaves me confused. After looking into Biotin supplements, it doesn’t seem that there is anything particularly harmful about trying them. Other than fact that I may have wasted $10, I don’t see a huge reason for concern. Here’s what I found:

-Some dermatologists believe Biotin improves the Keratin (a basic protein) infrastructure of hair, nails and skin.

-Too much Biotin may slow the release of insulin in your body and may cause acne. However there is no strict definition of “too much” (NOT helpful).

-Biotin rich foods include: cauliflower, salmon, bananas, egg yolks, sardines and mushrooms.

I found this info here and here.

It’s times like these when I wish I had a nutrition background. Maybe someday. Earning some type of nutrition certification is goal of mine for the future, but that is a wholeeee nother post!

So what do you guys think? Any experience with Biotin? Would you try it?

4 thoughts on “Biotin for Hair Growth: Yay or Nay?

  1. I suggest you go for GNC’s Ultra Mega Green Women’s Active – multivits rarely suit me but this one definitely had an effect on my hair strength and shine (though its’ not really for that 🙂 i noticed a change within 7 days!

Leave a Reply

