health

The 5 Most Shocking Food Truths

eat-the-yolkes

I’ve written before about Liz Wolfe’s  book “Eat the Yolks” and I stand by my assessment that it’s a must read for anyone who cares about where their food comes from and how it affects their body. I’m more than halfway through it now and I still can’t put it down.  This book is incredibly well researched and believe me I’ve checked. I’m a journalist. I’m naturally skeptical and I make it a habit to verify facts 🙂 .

Here are some of the most shocking food truths I’ve learned so far.

1). John Harvey Kellogg, (yes THAT Kellogg) one half of the brother duo that invented cornflakes, was a total and complete nutcase. Those are my words not Wolfe’s. He believed vices such as “tea, coffee, meat, spices, fashionable clothing and sex” drove young people to masturbate and become diseased and insane. He was the Physician-in-chief at Battle Creek Sanitarium and advocated a vegetarian diet to “fight the animal passions.” Cornflakes were an accidental discovery during his quest to find foods suitable for consumption.

You will NEVER look at cornflakes the same way again, will you? I know I won’t.

2). The American Dietetic Association lists Coca-Cola as a corporate sponsor….kinda makes you think twice doesn’t it?

3). Cholesterol and natural fats may not be the heart damaging substances we believe they are. George V. Mann, former director of the longest running heart health study called this misconception “the greatest biomedical error of the 2oth century.”

4).  Margarine was born out of a butter shortage. It was created in a lab by a chemist named Hippolyte Mege Mouries. In other words, it’s not REAL food. Eat butter instead. Your body knows how to digest it. Margarine is a science experiment.

5).  Cravings for Carbs have a biological root. Foods that provide good carbohydrates (like fruits and vegetables) are seasonal so our bodies are biologically programmed to eat them in abundance when they are available. Our ancestors could not always find these foods because they were scarce at various times during the year. Therefore we are programmed to want carbs and gorge on them when they are available.

So, it’s not your willpower that’s lacking when you inhale the bread basket at a restaurant. You’re just succumbing to a biological weakness.

What do you think? Have you heard any of this before? I want to hear your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “The 5 Most Shocking Food Truths

Leave a Reply

