Beauty · health

7 Foods for Healthy Hair

I’ve been trying to grow my hair out for what feels like forever. My hair just does not like to grow once it hits a certain length and I’ve never had hair that went too much longer than my shoulders, but really, what I would love is this.

Allison Williams

Or, you know, may be this….

kate2

So, I’ve been really looking into the role nutrition plays in healthy hair (and skin, but that’s another post) and it turns out what you eat affects a lot more than your weight. While I’m not naive enough to believe eating a few superfoods is going to put my hair on par with these lovely ladies, every little bit helps.

Here are 7 foods for healthy hair

Bell Peppers

bell peppers

Bell peppers are a great source of vitamin C, which is used to form collagen, a structural fiber that is essential for hair growth. Vitamin C deficiency can lead to weak hair and split ends. (Source)

Sweet Potatoes

sweet potatoes

Sweet potatoes have beta-carotene, which is converted to vitamin A in the body. Vitamin A is crucial for all cell growth, however there is too much of a good thing. Consuming high levels of vitamin A can lead to hair loss…yikes…so make sure not to combine too many foods high in vitamin A with a multivitamin that may also contain high levels of the vitamin. Otherwise, it shouldn’t be a problem. (Source)

Eggs

eggs

Eggs are high in Biotin, a B vitamin that’s important for hair growth and healthy scalp. I blogged about Biotin supplements a while ago, which I ultimately decided not to take. I’m just going to focus on consuming Biotin through the right foods. (Source).

Spinach

spinach

Spinach is packed full of folate and iron, which aid in the creation of red blood cells. People with low red blood cell counts tend to have dry, brittle hair and may even suffer from hair loss. (Source)

Salmon

salmon

Salmon is loaded with Omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin B12 and iron. A deficiency in these nutrients can cause dry scalp and dull hair. (Source)

Carrots

carrots

Carrots are another food high in vitamin A. They also happen to be a favorite snack of mine 🙂 (Source)

Blueberries

blueberries

Blueberries are an excellent source of vitamin C, which benefits the blood vessels that supply nutrients to hair follicles.

There ya go! Everything you need for long healthy locks.

Any tips for healthy hair you swear by?

5 thoughts on “7 Foods for Healthy Hair

  1. Great list!! I had no idea foods could play such a big roll in hair health. My hair is pretty long, but I’ve been trying to grow it out longer and keep it from getting as coarse. Thanks for this 🙂

  2. Great info! Luckily I already eat all of these foods (and I love them and I think they are all great foods for many reasons). My hair is decent but I probably don’t trim it as often as I should. I also don’t wear it down alot so I guess I don’t notice whether or not its healthy looking:)

Leave a Reply

