weekends

Weekend Scenes: The Drive-in + I Organized My Closet

Happy Monday! I hope you had a great weekend. As I said on Friday, I took my first trip to the drive-in and it was a blast. Brian and I packed up my dad’s pickup truck and loaded it with blankets, a cooler of beer (Michelob Ultra for me, ShockTop for Brian)  and some snacks provided by our friends Nathan and Meredith who went with us on our little outing.

We headed to the Mendon Drive-in around 6:00 and got there in plenty of time to find a great parking spot and hit up the snack shack for some dinner.

Mendon Twin Drive-In

It was too dark for me to take any outdoor photos so I got this one from the drive-in website.

The snack shack was an adorable little 50’s themed diner that served everything from popcorn chicken and fries to candy, ice cream and fried dough.

inside-dinner1

How cute is that Coca-Cola fridge in the corner?

 inside2

SnackBar

source

I ordered the popcorn chicken to split with Brian and then headed back to our pickup truck. On Friday, I thought we were going to see Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday the 13th (as part of the drive-in’s October Halloween Weekends), but the boys decided they wanted to see the the zombie triple feature playing instead so we ended up watching Dawn of the Dead, Zombie Land and Shaun of the Dead. Three movies made for a loooong night, but a fun one. We got home around 2 am and fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow.

Overall, the Medon Drive-in was a great time. It only cost $25 per a car for admission and we split that four ways. The snacks were reasonably priced as well and it was much cheaper (and a lot more fun) than going to a regular movie theatre. The drive-in also had a beer garden where you could buy a variety of beers on tap and an area with a fire pit where you could buy ingredients to make and toast s’mores. I highly recommend anyone in the area check it out.

The rest of my weekend was a lot less exciting. I spent all day Saturday organizing both of my closets.  I forgot to take a before picture, but here’s the end result.

closet

I have teeny tiny closets, which is really my only complaint about our condo. As a result, I’m often trying to figure out the best way to make use of my limited space. I turned closet #1 into an area to store my go-to seasonal tops and bottoms and moved all of my summery clothing into a spare closet in our office. Jeans and leggings go in the hanging organizer. Ignore the ruffly blue thing stuffed in there. I was trying to get it out of my way, but forgot to remove it before taking this picture.

Closet two is for shoes, seasonal jackets, bags, accessories and extra hangers. My favorite part of this newly organized closet is this box to store my wristlets and wallets. Apparently I’ve garnered quite the collection over the years.

bags

I also have a spot for my beloved nail polish collection.

nailpolish

While I was cleaning out my closets, I realized I have an inordinate amount of books, especially coffee table type style and fashion books that were just stuffed away. I decided to use them as part of my decor and now have several on my bedroom bureau.

decor

I plan to do something similar with my office desk.

OK. If you made it to the end of this very long post, thanks for sticking around and I will see you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Scenes: The Drive-in + I Organized My Closet

Leave a Reply

