health · workouts

Tips for Recharging Your Workout

Every once in a while I fall into a workout rut, especially during the winter months. I get bored with running on a treadmill and tired of alternating through my favorite strength training workouts. When this happens, I turn to a few tricks to recharge my routine.

1). Make it fun

Fitness Games

I highly recommend The Fitness Games app. It allows you to challenge your friends or other fitness enthusiasts to workout competitions. You can choose to complete a provided workout or design your own. I did both. There’s also a social component to the app that allows you to post gym selfies or videos.

My favorite way to use the app is to compete against myself. I did that with the app’s Beach ready workout and I was definitely more motivated knowing that I was being timed as I cycled through the various exercises.

Nike Training Club app

 

I’ve also blogged about the Nike training app in the past, which is packed full of great workouts that are anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour long. You can even sync up your iPhone music to create a workout playlist.

2. Rediscover your old favorites

One of the things I love to do when I’m bored with the music on my iphone is to go back through my iTunes library and look for older songs I’ve long forgotten about. There’s nothing like old school Britney Spears and some N’Sync to turn things around.

3. YouTube it

barre-fb2

 

YouTube is an awesome resource for workout videos and a great way to try an exercise class for free. I’ve tried Barre, a bootcamp class and Zumba through videos I found on the site. Fitness Blender, POPSUGAR Fitness and Shape Magazine have great accounts to check out.

4. Read a Fitness Magazine

Reading a copy of Shape Magazine, Self, Women’s Health or Fitness Magazine tends to get my mind in the right place. I’m motivated by reading the articles and looking at photos of all those women working out and having a blast. It always make me want to do something good for myself.

5. Fake it

When all else fails just fake. You’ll get over your rut soon enough. Just remember half a workout is better than no workout at all so if you can only bring yourself to do 10 minutes of strength training, at least you did something!

*** I received the opportunity to review The Fitness Games App through my ambassadorship with Fit Approach. I received the Platinum version of the app to review. All opinions are my own***

One thought on “Tips for Recharging Your Workout

Leave a Reply

