running · weekends

Workouts and Weekend Happenings

Did you guys have a good weekend? Mine was productive.

I finished all of my Christmas shopping Saturday morning and wrapped most of my presents Saturday night. Here are just a few packages I pulled out for this picture. The rest are piled up in the room we use as our office, which is a giant mess right now.

christmas presents

I spent Saturday afternoon in a hardcore cleaning session. The kind where you’re actually on your hands and knees scrubbing the house in rubber gloves, but it wasn’t so bad since I’m a neat freak anyway and I played Christmas music while I worked. It was kind of relaxing actually.

Sunday after my 3 mile run, we went to Brian’s parents house for lunch. I love eating there. His family is Portuguese and they’re amazing cooks. They make a lot food I had never heard of before I started dating Brian, but everything is delicious. We had Chourico and fried potatoes. The potatoes have cinnamon sprinkled on them, which sounds weird, but tastes so good.

While I was there, I took a picture of Brian’s parents’ Christmas tree.

Costa-tree2

Notice the shoes? Each one has a package of figs in them. I thought this was the funniest thing so I took a picture. Brian’s sister explained that it’s something their parents used do growing up in the Azores. I don’t know why, but I’m pretty curious to find out.

The rest of Sunday was spent catching up on laundry and then crafting for some DIY gifts I’m giving out this year. Can’t wait to tell you more about that, but since I don’t want to spoil the surprise it will have to wait.

Before I go, I also want to quickly recap last week’s workouts and a make a few notes about my training.

Monday: Strength (upper body)

Tues: 2.5 miles

Wed: Rest (unplanned)

Thurs: 2.0 miles, Strength (abs and lower body combo)

Friday: Rest (planned)

Sat: 40 min of cross training ( 20 min elliptical, 20 min bike)

Sun: 3.5 miles

Notes:  Wednesday’s unplanned rest day was supposed to be 30 minutes of cross training, but I slept in and never made it to the gym after work, which is why I typically only workout in the morning. This happens way too often when I don’t.

– Despite my lack of enthusiasm for cross training, I survived the 40 minutes and was surprised that it really wasn’t as awful as I had anticipated.

-Friday I was only supposed to run 3 miles according to my training plan, but I ended up going an extra half mile since I felt good and had skipped Wednesday’s workout.

Have a great Monday everyone. I will see you tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “Workouts and Weekend Happenings

Leave a Reply

