health · meals · weekends

I Actually Did Some Meal Planning…

I know, right? Hopefully no one just just died of shock, but it’s true. On Saturday I took some time to plan my meals for the week and then I did some actual cooking on Sunday, which is highly unusual for me since Brian does all of the cooking in our house. I’m pretty darn proud of myself right now.

Here was dinner last night:

chicken broccoli and ziti

I made chicken, broccoli and ziti. I didn’t use alfredo sauce to keep the dish on the low cal side. Instead the flavor came from the pasta water, garlic, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. I don’t want to brag, but it came out great and got the seal of approval from the Brian, the real cook in this family. Even more surprising, I actually enjoyed cooking. Maybe I’m turning over a new leaf?

In addition to dinner, I also baked some paleo blueberry muffins to take to work as my mid-morning snack this week.

paleo blueberry muffins

I still don’t have the hang of food photography despite the awesome camera I got for Christmas, but all in good time. I’m working on it. For now, these photos will have to do.

The recipe I followed was incredibly easy and I was very happy with the results. The blueberries are pretty tart, which kind of turned Brian off, but he liked the actual muffin. The tartness of the blueberries doesn’t bother me that much, but if I use this recipe again I think I might leave out the berries all together or maybe substitute them with dark chocolate chips. Either way, i consider them a win.

Here’s what dinner looks like for the rest of this week:

Tonight: Lean burrito bowls

Tuesday: leftovers

Wed: Healthified chicken tenders

Thurs: leftovers

Thurs: Roast beef and swiss cheese sammies

Friday: ? Maybe leftovers, maybe a frozen pizza. TBD

Not the most complicated meal plan, I’ll admit, but I wanted it to be an easy week with simple meals that require little cooking. Plus, since I’ve committed to cooking our dinners this week, I now have to force myself out of bed for a morning workout–which has been a struggle lately.

Alright, I’m off to work! I will see you all tomorrow. Have a great Monday!

Are you good with meal planning? If you are, do you have any go-to meals to share?

6 thoughts on “I Actually Did Some Meal Planning…

  1. I love the idea of meal planning but I’m terrible at sticking to the planned meals and end up doing something random…the only time I stick to it is when I have no other options!

Leave a Reply

