Friday Favorites

Friday Favorites #5

Happy Friday friends! Today is promising to be a very good day. We just hired a new editor at work so we are taking her out to lunch. Plus, there’s the promise of a relaxing weekend.

I had plans Saturday to meet up with my best friend from grad school, but unfortunately, she got into a car accident a few days ago and is without a reliable ride so we had to reschedule. She’s fine though, which is the important part. I’m bummed out because I was really looking forward to seeing her, but I know it’ll happen soon.

Since it’s Friday, it’s time to take a look at the past week and highlight some of my favorite things. As always, I invite you to play along in the comments and share your Friday Favorites too.

Lean In

I’m re-reading Lean In for the third time. I really love this book. I know it’s controversial, but for me so much of what Sheryl Sandberg writes rings true. I also work in the technology industry, which is pretty male dominated. Before entering the workforce, I would have been inclined to say that women do not face discrimination in the workforce, but unfortunately, my own experiences as a young woman have shown otherwise. This book reminds me to have confidence in myself and not to be afraid to be good at my job, to speak up and take the lead.

pizza

Dinner one night this week was green pepper, mushroom and onion pizza. I love when Brian makes homemade pizza. It’s one of my favorite meals and I never get tired of it.

repaint

My office was repainted this week. It used to be stark white and very industrial looking, but I’m loving the blue and the red our art directors chose for the walls. It warms up the office and makes the workplace so much more inviting.

oscar

Every morning when I get up to go to the gym, Oscar follows me into the bathroom and does this. He sits on the toilet and watches me brush my teeth and get ready. That kitty just melts my heart!

What are some of your favorite things from the week?

3 thoughts on “Friday Favorites #5

Leave a Reply

