weekends

iPhone Drama and Seeing Old Friends

My weekend kicked off on a somewhat stressful note. Minutes after pulling into my driveway on Friday, I pulled out my iPhone 5S to see this.

broken iPhone

I actually had an iPhone 4 that did the same thing so I knew it would need to be looked at. I then spent Friday trying to figure out whether I had insurance on my phone and what my options were for repair. It took quite a bit of time on the phone with Verizon to confirm that I do, in fact, have insurance (I thought so) and then direct me to an online form I needed to fill out.

Easy enough, right? Hahaha…Not so fast. After completing a brief questionnaire, I was informed my claim was denied and I needed to go to a Verizon store and speak with a representative. Ok. fine. The store was closed at this point so I decided to head there after my Saturday morning BODYPUMP class. I got to the store, checked in and then waited over an hour only to be told I actually had to go to the Apple store. On a positive note, my phone was still under the manufacturer’s warranty so I didn’t have to pay for the repair, but I did have to wait in another line at the Apple store only to find out they didn’t have a repair appoint until 5:00 pm (it was now 2:00) so I went home and came back later.

When I made my genius bar appointment, the Apple store employee I spoke with told me that they would fix the phone while I waited and that it should only take a half-hour. However, when I dropped my phone off I was told it wouldn’t be ready until 9:00pm. Not wanting to make a third trip to the mall that day, I opted to pick up my phone Sunday morning when the store opened at 10am. The employee assured me my phone would be waiting.

To be safe, I went in around 10:30am on Sunday. Long story short…it wasn’t ready and I waited about 40 minuntes and ended up being late meeting a visiting friend for lunch.

I was not a happy camper. My friend Meaghan is engaged to an air force pilot and she moves pretty frequently. I don’t get to see her often so when she’s in town I like to make sure we get to spend some quality time together. This time she even brought her fiance along, which was nice because I’ve actually never met him in person. That sounds strange, but he’s always working or training or deployed somewhere so we’ve never had the chance to get together.

We met at the Bahama Grill, a new-to-me place with a tropical flair. It was actually snowing on my way to the restaurant so the island theme inside of the restaurant was funny in comparison to the winter wonderland outside.

bahamagrill

I ordered the Jerk Chicken Pasta and it was fabulous. It had a nice kick to it.

jerk_chicken

Plus, I had my trusty iPhone back, the company of good friends and I even sipped on a Margarita. All in all I had a great experience at Bahama Grill and would definitely go back. Lunch with Meaghan more than made up for my little iPhone drama and I headed back home in a much more cheerful mood!

Thanks for stopping by and have a great Monday! I will see you all tomorrow with a post about my first BODYPUMP experience.

What was the best part of your weekend?

5 thoughts on “iPhone Drama and Seeing Old Friends

  1. Oh my gosh! I would of been so frustrated with all of that back and forth.. I had a similar issue when I was trying to set up me new iPhone. I called best buy because the online link they sent to activate didn’t work since I purchased through them they told me I had to call sprint, sprint told me I had to call best buy and then so on. Luckily I wasn’t actually driving places but it took about a half day to figure out. Things always seem to be made more complicated then they have to be! But in the end im glad you were able to get your phone and enjoyed lunch with your friend! Happy Monday and can’t wait to read about BODYPUMP! One of best parts of my weekend had to going to dinner with Billy Friday night, it was nice to have a night out just is with no other impending plans for once! lol.

Leave a Reply

