Thinking Out Loud

TOL: Lunchtime Workouts, Alcohol, Lifting Weights

Hi everyone, I hope you’re having a fabulous week so far. Today I’m going to do something I haven’t done in a while, a thinking out loud post! Here are some of the thoughts that have been occupying my mind this week.

Thinking-Out-Loud2

1. What do you guys think about lunchtime workouts? I have a number of colleagues who are fans especially since my workplace has gym in the basement. It’s pretty small. There are two treadmills, two ellipticals, two bikes, free weights and kettlebells. I’m a little hesitant to do any kind of workout at lunch, especially one that involves cardio. There is a shower, but there’s only one and the idea of showering while my coworkers are just outside in the gym area skeeves me out a little since the room is so small. I also don’t like the idea of not showering since I don’t want to be the smelly girl in the office.

How do you guys feel about lunchtime workouts? Any tricks for freshening up without a shower?

2. How do you feel about alcohol during the workweek?ย Until recently, I never drank during the week. Now, I often find myself enjoying a glass of red wine or a beer at night, but I’m not sure I love the idea. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good glass of wine. I’m just not sure it should be an every night kind of thing. I think I need to find a happy medium. I should also say that in no way do I have a problem. I’m talking one glass of wine with a book….just in case you were worried ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. Do you prefer to lift heavy weights or lighter weights with higher reps?ย I used to be all about the medium to light weights with lots of reps, but recently I’ve become more interested in heavy weights and trying to build strength. I’ve always been on the scrawny side so I’ll be interested to see what kind of changes resultย in my body. Workouts like Barre classes and Pilates come naturally to me, but lately I’ve been feeling the need to challenge myself a little more.

That’s it for me. Thank you to Amanda for hosting and have a lovely Thursday! I’ll see you tomorrow for Friday Favorites!

6 thoughts on “TOL: Lunchtime Workouts, Alcohol, Lifting Weights

  1. 1) Im not one for lunchtime workouts. My gym is right down the road as well as my PT place has some workout equipment but like you said I just don’t like the idea of coming back as the “smelly girl” lol and I’d be afraid if I wanted to get a good workout in I would run out of time to necessarily freshen up. when I go to the gym I want to have all the time I need, not rush through things which I think at lunch I would be rushed.

    2) I don’t think a glass of wine every once in a while during he week is bad..I don’t think I ever had a drink more then 2 times in M-F week and then there’s some weeks I havent. I think it’s all dependent on your body and what your feeling that week. Like you said every night might be a little much but every now and again can help you to unwind and relax.

    3) I never was really about light weight with a lot of reps but I also, until recently, wasn’t ever about the heavy weights. I kinda would just do what felt good for whatever I was doing that day. When I met Billy a couple years ago and started working out with him is when I started paying attention to the weights and building it up throughout time and I definietly noticed a quicker result.

    Great TOL! :))

    1. I think I would feel rushed working out at lunch too. I’d be so worried about getting back into the office on time that I would have to cut things short.

Leave a Reply

