surveys

High/Low Healthy Living Style

I like to use this blog as a way to keep myself accountable for making healthy choices. It’s easy to slip up so every once in a while I like to check in to share what I’m doing well healthwise and where I have some room for improvement. It’s not easy to make healthy choices all the time and believing that you can do so is completely unrealistic, but self-reflection is never a bad thing.  I love when other bloggers talk about things they struggle with because no one is perfect and I believe sharing our “flaws” or shortcomings is a healthy and empowering thing.

This post is structured like that game High, Low. Have you ever played? If you haven’t, it’s pretty self-explanatory. Everyone shares a high point and then a low point about their day. I’ve changed things up a bit so rather than talk about my day, I’ll be talking about my efforts at healthy living. I hope you’ll play along in the comments. Here we go!

High-Low

High: cardio—since switching to mid workday workouts, I’ve consistently been logging miles on the treadmill. I was always a morning gym goer until about a month ago when I started consistently skipping workouts to sleep in. After making the switch, I’ve gotten back on track with cardio workouts 5-6 days a week.

Low: not drinking enough water–I was on a roll for a while, but lately it’s been a struggle to finish one tervis tumbler while I’m at work. I’m drinking ALL the coffee and none of the water.

High: Strength training three days a week—via my beloved Pure Barre classes. I used to only strength train two days a week.

Low: no fruit–I’ve been great at working more veggies into my diet, but terrible at eating any fruits. The apple I bring to work every day has gone uneaten for weeks now. I keep buying apples and I end up just throwing them away.

High: Going to bed early– I’ve been great at shutting down my laptop and climbing into bed by 9:00 pm most nights where I read a little bit before falling asleep. It’s made a huge difference in the quality of my sleep and how I feel when I wake up the next morning.

I want to end on a positive note so I’ll leave it here. Now it’s your turn. Tell me one high/low in your life right now.

One thought on “High/Low Healthy Living Style

  1. Lately I have had a lot more lows than highs with healthy living. I guess you can consider it a “high” than I am giving myself a break from working out as much. Some lows are not drinking enough water and skimping on fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

