Family · weekends

A Brewery, A Broken Phone and a Birthday Party

Happy Marathon Monday! For those of you who aren’t runners, today is the 119th Boston Marathon and a day that Bostonians looks forward to every year. It isn’t really spring until the marathon happens. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to watch the race live, but I will be following the results on Twitter while I’m at work. For anyone who is running the race this year, Good luck! Rock it! I’ll be cheering you on from my cubicle.

On another note, Monday is also the day I recap my weekend so I’ll get to it! Friday after work I went to Jack’s Abby, a craft brewery in Framingham about 15 minutes from where I work. We met a group of friends. There were about eight of us in total and we had a great time sampling various beers. My favorite was called Sunny Ridge. It was described like this:

This aromatic lager features a sunshine hue, herbal noble hop nose, and a dry finish. We balance pilsner malt with a blend of European hops and polish it with extended periods of cold conditioning. You’re royalty, now drink like it.

I forgot to take a picture of the Sunny Ridge, but I did snap a photo of the second beer I tried called Hoponious Union. It wasn’t my favorite.

jack's abby

inside

Shortly after taking this pic, I dropped my iPhone and smashed the screen so I have no pictures of the rest of the night. After leaving the brewery we went to a Mexican restaurant called Margaritas before heading home.

I spent most of Saturday getting my phone fixed. I have insurance on it, but the insurance company wanted $169 dollars to fix the screen and required me to send it out to get serviced, meaning I would have been without a phone for a few days. That price seemed a little outrageous to me so I did a some research to suss out my options. I found a kiosk at the mall that would fix it for $100 so I decided to try my luck there. The kiosk was called Talk N’ Fix and they did a great job replacing my screen in under 30 minutes, however when I got home I realized my rear facing camera no longer worked and it had been fine the night before. I had to then go back to the mall, but thankfully, the guys at Talk N’ Fix fixed my iPhone camera no problem and did not charge me for it since it was their mistake. Now, it works beautifully. I was worried for a minute there, but everything turned out OK.

Sunday was a much more relaxing day. It started with a Pure Barre class followed up by lunch at Brian’s grandmother’s house. it was her 86th birthday so his family threw her a little party. As always, there was a ton of delicious food including beefs with an egg on top and pickled red peppers. I ate my egg on the side, but was promptly scolded because the Portuguese way to eat the dish is to put the egg on top of the beefs, which is really just various cuts of steak. Brian’s uncle also made the most delicious homemade fries. The meal was paired with wine. When it was time for dessert, espresso was served along with coffee ice cream, pizzelles and birthday cake.

espresso

dessert

Portuguese family parties are my favorite. Good people, good food and good wine. What’s not to love?

At the birthday party, we also got to see Brian’s cousin’s new baby. She’s a little over one month old right now and such a little peanut! We last saw her on Easter and I can’t believe how much she’s grown since then!

brian_kennedy

After hanging out for a while, Brian and I headed home to relax and wait for our Sunday night ritual of Game of Thrones and Mad Men. That’s it for our exciting weekend. Tell me about yours!

One thought on “A Brewery, A Broken Phone and a Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

