Uncategorized · workouts

That Time I Almost Got Stuck in My House….

I didn’t get in my usual run yesterday morning. I got up at 4:45 like I always do, put on my gym clothes, grabbed my iPhone and water bottle and headed out the front door….except….it wouldn’t open. I made sure everything was unlocked and tried again. It didn’t budge. I pulled and pulled, but nothing happened so I walked back upstairs and climbed into bed. I thought about waking up Brian, but decided against it since it was so early and I would have sounded ridiculous saying I couldn’t get the door open. When Brian woke up a half hour later he tried the door and sure enough it was stuck.

So that the heck happened?

The condo we live in is in the middle of a large remodeling project that includes new siding, painted decks and a fresh coat of paint on the front door. Whoever applied it got a little too close to the door frame and apparently sealed us in. Thankfully Brian got the door open pretty quickly, but what a strange thing to happen! Needless to say, no morning run for this girl, which may have been for the best since I woke up totally exhausted.

That feeling never went away, but I sucked it up and forced myself to do a total body strength training routine after work. I also took a half hour nap first, which is totally unlike me. I never nap, but my body must have needed it.

Total Body Workout

I only did two rounds of each exercise above. I thought of it as a compromise since I didn’t really feel like working out at all. This was me when I finished.

tired

After showering, I tried out my new nail polish (Mademoiselle from Essie) while watching Chasing Maria Menounos on demand. Then I hopped in my bed with Brian and my iPad and called it a night.

How do you motivate yourself to workout when your tired?